NCAC dominates All-region team

By Mike Bowen

The North Central Athletic Conference dominated the first-ever Times
West Virginian/WDTV All-North Central West Virginia boys&Mac226; basketball
Elkins&Mac226; Nick Patella was named the captain of the first team after
an outstanding season with the Tigers. Patella averaged a double-
double with 22.0 points per game and an average of 11.5 rebounds
per game.
Five of the eight players on the first team are from the NCAC; the
other three are members of the Big 10.
West Fairmont, which lost to Morgantown in the Class AAA, Region
III final, is represented by Will Bridges and Cornelius Dillard.
Bridges led West in scoring, averaging 15 points per game, while
Dillard averaged 12 points and 8 rebounds per game. They are the
only players from Marion County to make the first-team.
Nick Carbacio and Tyler Dodd led Bridgeport to a berth in the Class
AA state tournament and both were selected to the first team. Carbacio
led Bridgeport in scoring (20.0) and was named to the all-tournament
team in Charleston after the conclusion of the state tournament.
Dodd averaged 16.2 ppg and pulled down 3.7 rebounds.
The remainder of the first team includes Robert C. Byrd&Mac226;s Michael
DeFazio, Morgantown&Mac226;s Bobby Prim and Preston&Mac226;s Thomas Hooton.
Prim led Morgantown to a Region III championship win over West Fairmont
and a to the semifinals of the Class AAA state tournament. He led
the Mohigans in scoring (13.4 ppg.).
The only other member of the Big 10 to earn first-team honors is
Robert C. Byrd&Mac226;s DeFazio. He led the Flying Eagles in scoring with
15.2 ppg and also averaged 6.2 rebounds per game.
Hooton led Preston in scoring (18.0 ppg) and was extremely good at
shooting 3-pointers. His shooting skills helped Preston during many
close games, including a double-overtime loss to West Fairmont.
East Fairmont&Mac226;s Jimmy Wyant is the captain of the second team. Wyant
led the Bees, averaging nearly 16.0 points per game.
The remainder of the second team includes North Marion&Mac226;s Rocky Manchin,
Morgantown&Mac226;s Ronnie Shaver, Notre Dame&Mac226;s Tim Swiger, Clay-Battelle&Mac226;s
Matt Eddy, Tyler Consolidated&Mac226;s Blake Patterson, South Harrison&Mac226;s
Jason Grimmett and Robert C. Byrd&Mac226;s R.J. Coleman.
Members of the sports departments of the Times West Virginian and
WDTV News Channel 5 voted for the team.